Scotland is one of four constituent nations which form the United Kingdom (the other three are England, Wales and Northern Ireland). Scotland forms the northern part of the island of Great Britain.

Scotland is 31,510 sq. miles in area; it is 274 miles long from North to South and varies in breadth between 24 and 154 miles. An active map of Scotland is available, which details Scotland's major cities.

Population statistics for Scotland (1811 - 1991) are available here. Other demographic and socio-economic statistics are also available.

 The official language is English, although Gaelic is spoken, primarily in the North and West of Scotland. For your information, the local date and time are available in Gaelic. The Scots language (which has many similarities to English, but also draws on French and Gaelic) is also spoken. Whereas Gaelic is the language of the Highlands & Islands, Scots is the language of the Lowlands.

A detailed government-produced profile of Scotland is available here.

The national flower is the thistle, although the heather which covers significant moorland areas is also closely associated with the country, providing peat for the fire and, along with lichens, dyes for tartan. Both are illustrated to the right.